Gepubliceerd op 16-01-2024

Open Call – NIAS Fellowships

The Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS-KNAW) has opened its annual call for fellowship applications. This is a great opportunity for scholars who want to carry out curiosity-driven research and be part of the interdisciplinary NIAS community in Amsterdam.

In good company

As a fellow at NIAS, you are in good company. Previously, David Van Reybrouck did research here for his award-winning book CongoJennifer Nansubuga Makumbi worked here on her fourth book The first woman. The Nobel Prize winner Olga Tokarczuk was writer-in-residence at NIAS. We are expecting Michèle Lamont (winner of the Erasmus Prize) next semester and currently Eveline Crone is investigating the emergence of curiosity during adolescence at NIAS.

Open Call for NIAS Fellowships 2025 - 2026

A room of one’s own

The Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS), is the third oldest institution of its kind in the world (after the Princeton and Stanford institutes), and is committed to promoting interdisciplinary and curiosity-driven research for established and early career scholars. It is an intellectual haven where scholars, artists, writers and journalists come together in an interdisciplinary and collaborative environment.

A NIAS fellowship offers time and space to work on one’s research project, as well as the chance to become part of a diverse community where one can challenge boundaries, explore detours and obtain new perspectives. Annually, around fifty fellows are selected.

NIAS Fellowships are as diverse as their fellows

In addition to the NIAS individual and group fellowships, NIAS offers fellowships together with partners, our so-called sponsored fellowships. Use the links below to learn more about (and to apply for) our Supported Individual Fellowships:

Formal requirements

We welcome (groups of) applicants from around the globe who wish to work on a project of their own choice that fits within the scope of humanities or social sciences. Fellowships are awarded for a period of 5 or 10 months. Applicants have at least three years of post-PhD degree academic experience. Both scholars with or without an affiliation at universities/research institutes can apply. Applications must be submitted before 18 March 2024 (noon).

NIAS Individual Fellowships 2023/24
Door Redactie Historici.nl
NIAS Individual Fellowship
Door Redactie Historici.nl
Artist Call: Project Description & Audience – Atelier KITLV
Door Redactie Historici.nl
Het KNHG is de grootste organisatie van professionele historici in Nederland. Het biedt een platform aan de ruim 1100 leden en aan de historische gemeenschap als geheel. Word lid van het KNHG.
Het Huygens Instituut beoogt de Nederlandse geschiedenis en cultuur inclusiever maken. Het ontsluit historische bronnen en literaire teksten en ontwikkelt innovatieve methoden, tools en duurzame digitale infrastructuur.